LONDON  - The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) has formed a nine-member Supreme Council and appointed Nadeem Nusrat as permanent Convener of the Coordination Committee.

The decisions in this regard were taken at a party meeting chaired by MQM chief in London on Saturday, said a party statement on Sunday.

The meeting discussed political and party’s organisational matters.

The Supreme Committee would guide the Rabita Committee (Coordination Committee), party leaders and workers alongwith citizens in case of non-availability of party head Altaf Hussain, the statement said.

The Supreme Council would comprise Convener Nadeem Nusrat, Senior Deputy Convener Dr. Farooq Sattar, Dr Faroogh Nasim, Senator Nasreen Jalil, Kanwar Naveed, Rauf Siddiqui, Babar Ghauri, Kishwar Zehra and Iftikhar Hussain Qureshi.

The meeting categorically mentioned that the current Coordination Committee would continue working with the same capacity.