ISLAMABAD -  A thirteen-member Awami National Party delegation headed by former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly member Skindar Irfan called on former President Asif Ali Zardari here Wednesday and announced to join Pakistan People’s Party.

Zardari welcomed the delegation in the PPP and said the PPP had always served the people of Pakistan and worked for prosperity of the county. “He asked them to start their election campaign in their respective areas and said that PPP will win the next general elections and will form the government in centre and all four provinces,” said a PPP statement.

Sikandar said the PPP had given the identity to Pukhtun people. He also said the PPP was the only party which served the country whenever it came to power. He promised to work for the party and for the people of Khyber Pakhtunkha.

Meanwhile yesterday, Zardari appointed Senator Sherry Rehman as a member of the Parliamentary Board for Senate Elections - 2018.

The other members are: Asif Ali Zardari, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, Faryal Talpur, Syed Qaim Ali Shah, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani, Farhatullah Babar, Syed Nayyer Hussain Bukhari and Sabir Baloch.