ISLAMABAD- As many as 45 lawmakers of the country have failed to discharge their national duty to file their income tax returns despite government had given several deadlines in last month.

The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) on Friday issued the final tax directory of the parliamentarians, showing 1127 lawmakers of the country had filed their income tax returns of the year 2013 while 45 did not bother to do so. The FBR on February 15 issued the tax directory of the parliamentarians wherein 1072 out of 1172 had filed their income tax returns. However, the government had given them (remaining 100 lawmakers) an opportunity to file their returns by February 28.

However, the latest figures of tax directory showed that 1127 out of 1172 have filed their returns. The tax directory showed that Mir Israr Ullah Khan Zehri, Senator Mohammad Azam Khan Hoti, MNA Amir Haidar Khan Hoti, Federal Minister for Religious Affairs Sardar Muhammad Yousaf, and MNA Makhdoom Javed Hashmi were among those who did not file their returns.