ISLAMABAD  -  Petroleum Ministry on Friday signed eight more Petroleum Concession Agreements (PCAs) and Exploration Licences (ELs) of eight blocks for exploring oil and gas resources in the country.

The total area of these blocks is 18,852.64 Sq. km and minimum firm work commitment is $60.73 million. Apart from minimum work commitment, companies are obligated to spend a minimum of $30,000 per year in each block on social welfare schemes.

The respective ELs and PCAs were signed by Secretary Petroleum and Natural Resources Abid Saeed and Director General Petroleum Concessions Saeedullah, Senior Vice President of Middle East and Caspian Region Erwin Kroll, OVM, acting Managing Director OGDCL Riaz Khan, MD PPL Asim Murtaza, CEO Al-Haj Muhammad Afridi and Directors from concerned provinces. Minister of State Jam Kamal Khan, present on the occasion, said the government is giving high priority to develop indigenous hydrocarbon resources to minimise the demand and supply gap.

Admiring the keen interests and untiring efforts of Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Resources and especially by the Director General Petroleum Concession (DG PC), he said since taking over by the current government some  73 numbers of wells have been spaded and 18 discoveries have been made so far. He said the oil production in the country has crossed 90,000 bbl per day of oil, which is the highest oil production level achieved so far.

The licences were signed with OMV (Pakistan) Exploration Gesellschaft m.b.H (OMV) and Pakistan Petroleum Limited (PPL), Oil and Gas Development Company Limited (OGDCL) and Al-Haj Enterprises (Pvt) Ltd (Al-Haj) for Block No.2867-5 (Kuhan) and 2866-4 (Margand) and with M/s block No.3369-1 (Orakzai), 3170-7 (Hetu and 2868-7 (Zorgarh) block No. 2569-5 (Khipro East), block No. 3169-4 (Baska North) and 3271-6 (Potwar South).

Orakzai block is located in Kurram Agency, Orakzai Agency and Hungo district of KPK, Hetu block is located in Bhakkar and Mianwali districts of Punjab and D.I.Khan district of KPK, Zorgarh block is located in Ghotki, Kashmore districts of Sindh, Dera Bugti and Jaffarabad districts of Balochistan and Rajanpur district of Punjab, Margand block is located in Khuzdar district of Balochistan and Dadu district of Sindh, Khipro East block is located in Sanghar and Umer Kot districts of Sindh. Kuhan block is located in Khuzdar, Jhal Magsi, Bolan and Kallat districts of Balochistan.

Similarly, Baska North block is located in D.I.Khan and Tank districts of KPK, Zhob district of Balochistan and South Waziristan Agency and Potwar south block is located in Chakwal, Khushab and Mianwali districts of Punjab.