Islamabad - National Commission on Status of Women (NCSW) has currently been working without a chairperson since the completion of tenure of its former head Khawar Mumtaz in January. She was heading the fifth commission formed in 2013 for a time period of three years with 15-member executive council whose term would expire in March.

Last time after completion of fourth commission tenure, headed by Anees Haroon from January 23 2009, to March 26, 2013, the new head Khawar Mumtaz was appointed in January 2013 after a gap of nine month, official sources told APP.

They informed that Saira Afzal Tarar, Minister of State for National Health Services, Regulation and Coordination is performing duties of acting Chairperson of the commission as member of commission.

According to rules, the commission comprises of chairperson and two members each from the four provinces, one each from Islamabad Capital Territory, Federally Administered Tribal Agencies, Gilgit Baltistan and Azad Jammu Kashmir, a representative of the religious minorities and five ex-officio members without voting right, from Ministries of Law, Finance, Foreign Affairs, Interior and a chairperson or designated member of each provincial commission on status of women.

The current commission members are Saira Afzal Tarar, Tanveer Jahan, Uzma Noorani, Muhammad Jan Odhano, Zubeda Noor, Sadia Qasim Shah, Justice (R) Mehta Kailash Nath Kohli, Shireen Gul Nusrat Shaheen, Sadia Danish, Zainab Azmat, Kishwar Naheed and Najmi Salimi.

While the ex-office members are secretary Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Secretary Ministry of Law and Justice, Secretary Ministry of Finance, Secretary Interior Division and Joint Secretary Ministry of Human Rights.

In 2000, the permanent National commission on Status of Women was established through a Presidential Ordinance. From 2000-2012 four commissions completed their terms. The first four chairpersons of the commissions were Dr. Shaheen Sardar Ali, Justice (Retd) Majida Rizvi, Arifa Syeda and Anis Haroon respectively.