ISLAMABAD - As the deadline for submission of asset details of parliamentarians expired on Tuesday, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) said only 563 out of 1,174 lawmakers have submitted their assets with the commission.

According to details, only 563 lawmakers were able to share their assets with election authorities, including 221 MNAs, 77 senators, and 111 MPAs of Punjab Assembly, 75 lawmakers of Sindh Assembly, 54 MPAs of KP Assembly and 25 lawmakers of Balochistan Assembly. Chief Minister Punjab Shahbaz Sharif, Interior Minister Chaudhary Nisar Ali Khan, Railway Minister Saad Rafique, Senator Rehman Malik, MNA Hamza Shahbaz and Chief Minister Sindh Qaim Ali Shah were the prominent lawmakers who filed their asset details with the ECP on Tuesday.

PTI Chief Imran Khan and KP Chief Minister Pervez Khattak are among the others who have so far not submitted their assets with election authorities to what ECP spokesman said could lead to their disqualification as members too. An official of ECP said that the commission would convene a meeting on October 15 that would take up the issue of those parliamentarians who have not showed their annual assets.

On Friday Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had submitted his assets to ECP, a formality that is mandatory for every lawmaker to declare his assets each year with election authorities.