ISLAMABAD - The Special Court to resume trial against former President Pervez Musharraf under Article 6 of Constitution read with High Treason (Punishment) Act 1973 today.

A three-judges court presided over by Justice Faisal Arab of Sindh High Court, Justice Tahira Safdar of Balochistan High Court and Justice Yawar Ali of Lahore High Court was set under the Criminal Law Amendment (Special Court) Act 1976.

The prosecution has closed evidence and now Musharraf lawyers are requesting the court to include former Prime Minister Shoukat Aziz, who admittedly wrote a letter of 3.11.2007 inviting General (retd) Pervez Musharraf to impose emergency in the country.

The letter, which was never presented even in the review petition of Sindh High Court Bar Association case, has become main defence of Musharraf to include others in the case.

The team also wanted that the entire federal cabinet on 3.11.2007, the members of the National Assembly as on 6.11.2007; the entire cabinet and Chief Ministers of all the four provinces as on 3.11.2007; all the Governors of the four provinces as on 3.11.2007; all service Chiefs as on 3.11.2007; all Corps Commanders as on 3.11.2007; all senior members of the Armed Forces of Pakistan as on 3.11.2007; the Chief of Army Staff between 28.11.2007 to 15.12.2007; all federal and provincial bureaucrats in BS-20 and above; all members of the National and Provincial Assemblies as on 3.11.2007; all Federal and Provincial Secretaries; all the judges of superior judiciary, who took oath under 2007 PCO and all members of the Provincial and Federal Police, SSP and above, should also be tried under Article 6 of the Constitution.