MIRPUR (AJK)- The top national cricket event Quaid-e-Azam Cricket trophy tournament begins at the world-class Mirpur Cricket stadium here Sunday after KRL and PIA jumped into the field to play the opening match of the four-day tournament being held under the auspices of Pakistan Cricket Board. Commissioner Mirpur division Ehsan Khalid Kiayani, who is also chairman of MDA, inaugurated the opening contest of the tournament which will continue till February 4. Both the teams were introduced to the Chief guest - Mr. Kiyani. Two matches of PCB's largest tournament of national repute - the Quaid-a-Azam Trophy, will be played in Mirpur Cricket Stadium here from Sunday to February 4 and February 24 to 28 under the auspices of PCB, according to the schedule announced by the PCB here. National cricket stars - the fast bowler Shoaib Akhter, Yasir Arafat, Muhamamd Wasim, and Saeed Ajmal will represent KRL against PIA to be represented by Yasir Hameed Faisal Iqbal and Shoaib Mallick, the ex skipper of the national cricket team of Pakistan. Similarly Muhammad Zahir, Zahoor Elahi and Bilal Shafqat are amongst the prominent cricketers who will represent Customs in the second tournament to be played from February 24 to 28. Elaborating the schedule, Nawaz Rattiyal, President AJK Cricket Association, told The Nation here Sunday that the first four-day tournament is being played between the teams of KRL and PIA. Whereas the second four-day contest will be played between KRL and Customs teams. Rattyal continued that ensure the holding of the tournament in a befitting manner all arrangements have been made at the international standard Mirpur Cricket Stadium -currently in the managerial control of Pakistan Cricket Board. The AJK Cricket Association President pointed out that since PCB took over the formal control of the QA Mirpur Cricket Stadium, the matches of the QA tournament would be first-ever contests of national repute to be played between the teams of departments in the lush-green ground of Mirpur stadium. He said that AJK Cricket Association and Mirpur District Cricket Association will fully assist for hosting both the matches in befitting manner.