KARACHI - Dr Farooq Sattar was elected as Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-Pakistan) as the party head and convener while Amir Khan was elected as senior deputy convener in the intra-party election of the Party on Monday. Polling for the MQM-Pakistan intra-party election was held at the party’s temporary office in the PIB Colony from 2:00pm to 6:00pm.

A total number of 12,623 voters exercised their right to vote out of which 195 votes were rejected. As many as 35 candidates were also elected as Rabita Committee members.

With 11,930 votes Dr Farooq Sattar was elected as convener and Aamir Khan by taking the second highest votes from the party activists, 11,230, was elected as Senior Deputy Convener.

Kunwar Naveed Jameel received 10,890 votes, Dr Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui got 10,845 votes, Shahid Pasha bagged 10,781 and Nasreen Jaleel enjoyed the support of 10,795 votes to claim a spot as the Deputy Convener. In light of its recently amended constitution, Farooq Sattar and Aamir Khan were given the highest post of the party respectively, based on their votes share.  

Earlier, on Sunday, Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) Pakistan dissolved its entire party structure declaring the intraparty polls, held a few months ago, null and void.