LAHORE - Pakistan Football Federation (PFF)s President Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat has approved Lahore as host of 20th National U19 Soccer Championship. The team of Lahore District Football Association (LDFA) will face stiff challenge from fifteen foremost teams of Pakistan when 12-day show will explode into action on Saturday, 3 October 2009 at various grounds of Lahore. Faisal Saleh Hayat, who chaired Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Disciplinary Committee meet on 29 September, has asked the PFF Operation Wing to take the event seriously and discourage over-age players as it is part of Youth Development Program in order to collect fresh talent for future PFF assignments. The players born on or after 1 January 1991 will be eligible to play in coming event which will conclude on 14 October. The 20th edition of National U19 Championship 2009 will help also PFF in making strong Pakistan team which will take on tough Iran, Lebanon, Maldives, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan in 36th AFC U19 Championship (Group-D) from 8-18 December 2009. The 16-team event will be comprised of seven U19 teams of those departments/clubs who had booked berth for Pakistan Premiership 2009 and finishing in top four of PFF League 2008 viz Nushkis Baloch FC, PMC Club Athletico Faisalabad, Chamans Afghan Club, Muslim FC, Lahores Wohaib FC , Karachi Port Trust and Islamabads Mehran FC. Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan, NWFP, Northern Areas, FATA, Azad Jammu & Kashmir and Islamabad will complete the frame. Balochistan, alongwith Karachi and Railways, have the honor of winning the National Youth Soccer title three times while Army and Dhaka clinched the gold twice. It may be recalled that Karachi and Dhaka, now capital of Bangladesh, were once joint winners in 1966. The teams winning the event once are Sargodha, Multan, Rawalpindi, Punjab, Pakistan Steel and Faisalabad. Balochistan have the great chance to win their fourth title as their main rival Karachi and Railways are no more in the event. The financial problems forced Pakistan Railways Sports Board not to enter the team while Karachis players are representing Sindh team. The U19 event provides launching pad for soccer stars of tomorrow. Often, some of the biggest names in the Pakistan football make their first mark at this competition before getting national color. These include Chaudhry Asghar, Yunus Changezi (1964), Ali Nawaz (1966), Akbar Raisani, Muhammad Ali Shah (1972), Naushad Baloch, Mukhtar Ali (1979), Sharafat Ali, Khalid Mehmood, Jamshed Rana (1981), Mateen Akhter, Fayyaz Siddiqui (1982), Haji Sattar, Fidaur Rehman, Tariq Hussain, Abdul Wahid (1985), Qazi Ashfaq, Zahid Luqman, Imtiaz Butt, Nauman Ibrahim (1990), Haroon Yusuf, Hafeez Malik (1993), Babar Mehmood, Shaukat Ali (1994), Muhammad Ahmed, Abbas Ali, Imran Hussain (2004). National Youth Football Championship - Roll of Honor 1964 : Dhaka 1966 : Dhaka / Karachi 1968 : Karachi 1972 : Sargodha 1979 : Balochistan White 1980 : Balochistan Red 1981 : Multan 1982 : Pakistan Railways 1983 : Pakistan Railways 1984 : Rawalpindi 1985 : Pakistan Railways 1986 : Pakistan Steel 1987 : Karachi South 1990 : Faisalabad 1993 : Punjab Reds 1994 : Pakistan Army 2004 : Pakistan Army 2005 : Balochistan 2007 : Faisalabad Yellow