PESHAWAR – The Sarhad Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCI) on Saturday elected the members executive body unopposed for next term 2012-13

According to SCCI election committee, the candidates contesting for more than ten vacant seats for executive body elections under three different groups, including Corporate, Assciate, Town association and a served seat for women.  The election committee meeting held under Chairman Sufi Bashir Durrani here at the chamber house. Mohammad Ishaq and Kamran also attended the meeting as member of the election committee.

The election commission said that Zahid Ullah, Malik Iftikhar Ahmad Awan, Nasir Khan Musazai and Khalid Shahzad elected unopposed as members of the executive committee after Muhammad Nawaz and Hamid Nawaz Khan had contested for corporate group, withdrawn their nomination papers.

Similarly, the election commission also declared Dr. Mohammad Yousaf Sarwar, Muhammad Asif Khan, Faiz Rasool and Gul Salam Safi elected unopposed as members of the executive committee after withdrawal of nomination papers by five candidates, including Fazal Wahid, Muhammad Ameen Mohmand, Zahid Ullah, Abdul Wadood and Abdula Qadir.

For Kohat Association of Trade and Industry, the election commission had received one nomination paper submitted by Haji Manzor Ahmad Paracha because of which he also elected unopposed as member of the executive body.

Likewise, for reserved seat of women, Mubarak Begum elected as member of the committee due to not filling nomination against her.

All candidates of the Businessmen Forum under the supervision of Senator Ilayas Bilour elected as members of SCCI executive body.