ISLAMABAD - Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has declared that he will neither resign nor will he go on leave while national political leadership has resolved that there can’t be any compromise on supremacy of the constitution and continuity of democratic system.

A joint declaration to this effect came after a meeting of the leaders of 11 parliamentary political parties, with the prime minister in the chair here on Monday.

All these political parties, from both sides of the parliament aisle, once again put their weight behind Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to uphold the rule of law and constitution, expressing the resolve that they would not let anyone harm the incumbent political dispensation.

Expressing his gratitude to the parliamentarians, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif made it loud and clear that they would not set a precedent of bowing to the pressure of “a bunch of vagabonds” to wrap up the system. He said the government would not allow anyone to set the tradition of making the nation’s mandate hostage.

“If we succumb to pressure,” he said, “it would be dangerous for the future of democracy and then anyone could bring a few thousand people in capital to impose his will and highjack the mandate of whole nation.”

However, the PM reiterated that they were ready to hold talks with Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf and Pakistan Awami Tehreek and they would accept their constitutional demands. But he made it clear that bowing to any unconditional conditions of protesters was out of the question.

The meeting, which lasted for well over four hours, pointed out that future of Pakistan is linked with democracy and any deviation can be dangerous for the federation of Pakistan. The leaders expressed their firm resolve that they stand by the prime minister in the struggle to defend democracy.

All parliamentary parties also decided to become party to the petition filed in the Supreme Court for supremacy of the Parliament. The meeting condemned irresponsible role played by a section of media by trying to create misunderstanding between state institutions.

The meeting also strongly condemned attacks on the Parliament, PM House and PTV. It noted that attacks on these institutions, which are icons of the state, had badly damaged the face of Pakistan in the comity of nations and recommended punitive action against the miscreants.

They further said it was the constitution and democratic order which had kept the federating units united and strong and made it clear they would not let the Parliament become hostage to a bunch of people who have been engaged in unlawful activities in the federal capital for past few days.

The MPs who meet with PM included PPP’s Syed Khursheed Shah, Ch Aitzaz Ahsan and Rehman Malik; MQM’s Dr Farooq Sattar and Babar Ghouri; JUI-F chief Fazlur Rehman; ANP leaders Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour and Haji Adeel; JI Amir Sirajul Haq and Liaquat Baloch; PkMAP chief Mahmood Khan Achakzai; QWP chief Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao; NP chief Mir Hasil Bizenjo; PML-Z chief Ejazul Haq; BNP-A’s Ms Kalsoom Pervain; Jamiat-I-Ahle Hadees chief Prof Sajid Mir; FATA leader GG Jamal and ruling PML-N MPs Kh Asif, Ahsan Iqbal, Abdul Qadir Baloch, Pervaiz Rashid, Ishaq Dar, Saad Rafique and Irfan Siddiqui.

The Opp leader in Senate declared that if someone tried to besiege the PM House then political leadership would stay with the prime minister in the PM House. ANP leader Haji Adeel told the PM that if he resigned then they will leave him and therefore he should not even entertain the idea of resigning. When Nisar stated that police was not accepting his orders, Achakzai remarked: What are you doing if forces are not accepting your orders?