LAHORE: The City received scattered rains on Sunday, making weather pleasant by causing decrease in temperature during the day and at nighttime. Experts have predicted the wet spell to continue during the next couple of days.

People come out of their houses in the evening to enjoy pleasant weather on a holiday. Major parks and picnic spots attracted a large number of people including women and children. Huge rush was witnessed at Bagh-e-Jinnah, Racecourse Park, Gulshan-e-Iqbal, Jallo Park, Lahore Zoo and other picnic spots in the City. Frequent traffic jams were witnessed on the roads in the close vicinity of these picnic spots. Maximum and minimum temperature in Lahore was recorded 31 degree Celsius and 24C respectively. Relative humidity in the evening was recorded 78 percent. According to the experts, seasonal low lies over northwest Balochistan with its trough extending northeastwards. Under the influence of this low pressure, monsoon currents are penetrating central and upper parts of the country and likely to continue during next 24 to 36 hours.–Staff Reporter


The local meteorological department has forecast partly cloudy weather with chances of rains for Lahore during the next couple of days. Met office has forecast widespread rain-thundershower for Islamabad, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (Malakand, Hazara, Mardan, Peshawar, Kohat, and Bannu divisions), Punjab (Rawalpindi, Sargodha, Faisalabad, Multan, DG Khan, and Sahiwal divisions), Fata (Khyber, Kurram, Bajaour,Ourakzai, Mohmand, north and south Wazirastan agencies) and Gilgit. Scattered rain thundershower is likely in DI Khan, Zhob,Kalat, Bahawalpur, Lahore, Gujranwala divisions, Kashmir and Baltistan. Isolated heavy fall is also expected in Islamabad, Rawalpindi, Sargodha, DG Khan, Sahiwal, Malakand, Hazara, Mardan, Peshawar, Kohat,Bannu divisions and Fata.

On Sunday, Mianwali received 147mm rain, Kohat 119mm, Cherat 72mm, Risalpur 63mm, Bahawalpur 58mm, DG Khan 57mm, Noorpurthal 54mm, Rawlakot 44mm, Joharabad 42mm, Shorkot 40mm, Islamabad 39mm, Okara 36mm, Sahiwal 35mm, Balakot and Barkhan 25mm each, Bhawalnagar, Peshawar 24mm, MB Din 21mm, Chakwal 20mm, Faisalabad 19mm, Lahore 18mm, Sargodha 16mm, TT Singh 15mm, Sialkot 12mm, Parachinar 10mm, Gujrat 08mm, DI Khan, Mirkhani and Kakul 07mm each.