The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) announced on Monday that it would extend unconditional support to Mian Nawaz Sharif for the election of the new prime minister on June 5.

According to a statement Monday, MQM members would vote for Nawaz Sharif nominated by the PML-N as Leader of the House for a record third term.

The decision, it said, has been taken in the larger national interests.

The statement said that MQM chief Altaf Hussain has also ratified the coordination committee’s decision to vote for Nawaz Sharif.