PESHAWAR - Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has given approval to six names for provincial ministries, however, their portfolios would be announced on June 5.

Of the total eight aspirants for provincial ministries, six names were approved by the provincial parliamentary committee of the party. The names approved included Shaukat Ali Yousufzai, Shah Farman, Dr Amjad, Ali Ameen Gandapur, Atif Khan and Israrullah Gandapur.

Sources said that the remaining names of two ministers would soon be finalized. The new cabinet would take oath on June 5, the sources added. It has been learnt that these names have also been approved by PTI Chief Imran Khan.

Under the power-sharing formula, PTI will get eight ministerial slots out of a total 15. Three ministries each have already been given to coalition partners - Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) and Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) - while one minister will be inducted from the Awami Jamhuri Ittehad Pakistan (AJIP).

The PTI other lawmakers like Yousuf Ayub, Yasin Khalil, Javed Nasim, Arif Yousaf and Zia Afridi were also being considered for cabinet positions. But, it is yet to be decided. Moreover, it has also been learnt that the PTI is now reluctant to give education ministry to the JI, which according to the power-sharing formula, has been awarded to the latter.

The sources in the PTI say that this matter would be resolved soon.