Sardar Ayaz Sadiq of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz was elected Speaker on Monday for 14th National Assembly with a majority vote.

The MNA from Lahore whom the party has honored by nominating for the office of the Speaker secured 258 votes out of total 313 votes cast. His closest rival was Shehryar Afridi of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf who bagged 31 votes.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement candidate S.A. Iqbal Qadri remained third in the race by securing 23 votes. However one vote was declared invalid. The voting was processed through secret ballot at the session chaired by the outgoing Speaker Dr Fehmida Mirza.

After counting by the Secretary National Assembly, Speaker Fehmida Mirza announced the result and declared Ayaz Sadiq as 19th Speaker of the Lower House of the Parliament.

This followed slogans and desk thumping from the benches as well as the galleries.