ISLAMABAD  - In a bid to safeguard seats in the upper house of the parliament, the two factions of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan on Friday announced to jointly contest the Senate elections.

Under the current arrangement, the names of five candidates have been finalised as the Senate election contesters on the MQM-P tickets, Farooq Sattar and Khalid Maqbool said while addressing a joint press conference at the National Press Club.

Dr Sattar and Khalid Maqbool were confident that both the factions would bury the hatchet and internal differences would also be resolved soon.

Currently, MQM-P has eight seats in the Senate and retiring four senators will be replaced with four newcomers.

“After a thorough deliberation, we (both factions) have reached a consensus on candidates for the Senate polls,” Dr Sattar said. He added five names had been finalised – Kamran Tessori and Barrister Farogh Naseem would contest on general seats, Abdul Qadir Khanzada on a technocrat seat, Nikhat Shakeel on a woman seat and Sanjay Parwani on a minority seat.

Maqbool said Barrister Farogh Naseem was a candidate from his side and Tessori was a nominee of Sattar’s faction.

The name of Tessori had become a bone of contention between the two factions after the Bahadurabad faction, led by Maqbool, objected to his name given by Dr Sattar.

Sattar was confident that MQM-P would retain all its seats. “I repeat now all the differences will be resolved,” he said. To a question, Maqbool said other matters in MQM-P would also be resolved soon.

Earlier, MQM-P had finalised four candidates for the Senate polls, but there was dispute over the name of Tessori.

All major political parties have already announced the names of their candidates, including covering contesters, for the Senate elections.


MQM-P factions bury the hatchet for Senate polls