ISLAMABAD The Supreme Court (SC) on Monday accepted unconditional apology of 18 PCO judges in contempt of court case, however 12 judges including Justice (Retd) Abdul Hameed Dogar would contest their cases. Five-member SC bench headed by Justice Khalil-ur-Rehman Ramday heard the PCO judges case. Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk, Justice Raja Fayyaz Ahmed, Justice Jawwad S. Khawaja and Justice Ghulam Rabbani were other members of the bench. Superior courts judges, who subsumed beneath an usurper and took oath as chief justices as well as judges of their respective courts on November 3, 2007 have not only violated Supreme Courts order but have shocked the conscience of entire nation, remarked Justice Ramday. We never heard such sad case in our whole career, the honourable judges observed. Bar members, who along with other lawyers and nation refused to recognise courts manned by PCO judges, had to face hardship in their struggle for restoration of judiciary. Some lawyers and people lost their lives and some were even burnt alive, they further observed. Meanwhile, the PCO judges, who submitted their unconditional apology and later accepted by the court, included Justice (Retd) Syed Fiaz Ahmed Shirazi, Justice (Retd) Raja Abdul Ghafoor, Justice (Retd) Tasleem Hussain, Justice (Retd) Muhammad Afzal Soomro, Justice (Retd) Tariq Shamim, Justice (Retd) Maulvi Anwar-ul-Haq, Justice (Retd) Muhammad Khalid Alvi, Justice (Retd) M. Bilal Khan, Justice (Retd) Dr. Allama Khalid Mahmood, Justice (Retd) Dr. Rashid Ahmed Jullundhry, Justice (Retd) Mian Muhammad Najam-uz-Zaman, Justice (Retd) Fazle-Miran Chauhan, Justice (Retd) Sakhi Hussain Bokhari, Justice (Retd) Syed Asghar Haider, Justice (Retd) Muhammad Nawaz Abbasi, Justice (Retd) Bin Yamin, Justice (Retd) Hamid Farooq Durrani and Justice (Retd) Said Maroof Khan. They showed repentance in respect of said act on their part and most of them, who were still serving as judges of their respective courts had even fortified expression of their remorse through sacrificing their respective offices from which they had either resigned or sought retirement. Justice (Retd) Muhammad Akram Qureshi under notice submitted a further reply to the notice issued to him, which brings him within the category of the respondents above mentioned, the court order said. Wasim Sajjad Advocate, counsel for Justice (Retd) Anwar Bhinder, argued that November 3 judgement only restrained existing judges from taking oath, while his client was not an existing judge but was approached later. Accordingly Justice Bhinder did not commit contempt of court because he took oath on December 14 2007 when PCO was not valid, Wasim explained giving references of LHCs 1973 judgement and Patna HCs (India) 1962 judgement, which said that superior court judges could not be issued contempt of court notice. In reply to these arguments, Justice Ramday said the learned councils should not distress the bench by putting up irrelevant references before the court. No sense of restraint, it is the dignity of the apex court that its verdicts have always been implemented at all cost, Justice Jawwad S Khawaja remarked as learned lawyers said that they were stopped to justify their stance by honourable bench. Ahmed Raza Qasuri, lawyer of Justice (Retd) Dogar, also tried to argue at some points in favour of his client but Justice Ramday did not allow him to do so saying that his (Qasuri) clients application was still not a part of the said case. Meanwhile, the court adjourned the hearing till today (Tuesday), when Dr Khalid Ranjha, lawyer of former Chief Justice of LHC Iftikhar Chaudhry, will continue his arguments in favour of his client. Justice Hamid Ali Shah, Justice Zafar Iqbal Chaudhry, Justice Hasnat Ahmed Khan, Justice Syed Sajjad, Justice Jahanzaib, Justice Shabbar Raza Rizvi, Muhammad Akram Chaudhry, Justice Yasmin Abbasi, Justice Syed Zahid Hussain and Justice (Retd) Abdul Hameed Dogar will appear before the court to defend their stance in the apex court today (Tuesday).