Pakistan Captain Younis Khan won the toss and elected to bat first in the first one day international match against New Zealand being played at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. Former Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik made way for Khalid Latif, while New Zealand decided to rest Kyle Mills and James Franklin.