MUMBAI - England's James Anderson, South Africa's Hashim Amla and Australia's Michael Clarke are nominated for top honours in this year's International Cricket Council (ICC) awards, it was announced on Tuesday. The trio will vie for both the cricketer of the year and the Test player of the year categories, according to the short-list released by the ICC in Mumbai.

Others nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for cricketer of the year were England captain Alastair Cook, India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka. In the category of Test player of the year, the other nominees were South Africa's Dale Steyn and the Indian duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Cheteshwar Pujara.

Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq and spinner Saeed Ajmal are vying for ODI Cricketer of the Year Award. Umar Gul is in contention for the ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year award for his bowling figures of 2.2-0-6-5 against South Africa in Centurion, on March 3, 2013. Pakistani Umpire Aleem Dar is once again nominated for the Umpire of the year award. Ajmal is also the only from Pakistan featuring in ICC ODI team of the year while no player from Pakistan could make it to Test team of the year.

The short-list in 10 award categories was drawn up by an independent 32-person panel comprising former players and representatives from the media, match referees and umpires. The awards are based solely on performances over a 12-month period that ended on August 25, 2013 and included the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka, the Champions Trophy in England and the women's World Cup in India.

Cricketers receiving the highest number of votes from the panel will be judged the winners and the results will be announced on a TV show to be broadcast on December 14. The ICC also announced India's Dhoni as the winner of the People's Choice award voted online by fans, beating other nominees Clarke, Cook, India's Virat Kohli and South Africa's AB de Villiers. Dhoni is the third player to bag the award after the recently-retired Sachin Tendulkar won it in 2010 and Sangakkara won the vote in 2011 and 2012. Dhoni was also named captain of the ICC's one-day team of the year, while Cook was chosen to lead the Test team of the year. The left-handed opener's England team mates Graeme Swann and Anderson were also included in the 11-man team while world number one Test side South Africa were represented by four players. South Africa paceman Dale Steyn was included in the Tside for the sixth consecutive year, while two players each from Australia and India made up the remaining four slots.

"This is one of the awards that has given me tremendous satisfaction, since it comes from the key stakeholders of the game - the fans," Dhoni said in a statement. "Recognition from the people who support and encourage us day in and day out, only inspires me to put in that much more, and go the extra mile for them. I would like to thank all those people who have voted in my favour." The two teams were picked by a five-man panel headed by former India captain Anil Kumble and included Waqar Younis of Pakistan, England's Alec Stewart, South African batting legend Graeme Pollock and New Zealand woman cricketer Catherine Campbell. "It is always tough to decide on the Test and ODI teams of the year, with so many worthy candidates to consider," Kumble said in an ICC statement.

"But when you have only 12 places to fill from a big group of world-class players, there will always be a few who will miss out. In the panel's expert opinion, it has selected the best Test and ODI teams based on performances over the past 12 months."

All 12 members of the elite panel of umpires were nominated for the umpire of the year award that was won last year by Kumar Dharmasena of Sri Lanka. Former Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardena and Farhad Reza of Bangladesh were the two nominees for the spirit of cricket award.

Jayawardene was chosen for not waiting for the umpire's decision after edging a catch to the wicket-keeper when he was batting on 91 against New Zealand in a Test match in Galle in November 2012. Reza was voted in for confirming he had touched the boundary ropes and signalling a six after catching Pakistan opener Nasir Jamshed during the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka in 2012.



Alastair Cook (Eng, captain), Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Michael Clarke (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind), Graeme Swann (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), James Anderson (Eng), Vernon Philander (SA). 12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)


Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL), Shikhar Dhawan (Ind) Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind, captain), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Mitchell Starc (Aus), James Anderson (Eng), Lasith Malinga (SL). 12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ)

Awards nominations

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year

Hashim Amla, James Anderson, Michael Clarke, Alastair Cook, MS Dhoni, Kumar Sangakkara

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year

Hashim Amla, James Anderson, R Ashwin, Michael Clarke, Cheteshwar Pujara, Dale Steyn

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year

Saeed Ajmal, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Misbah-ul-Haq, Ravindra Jadeja, Kumar Sangakkara

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year

Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year

Trent Boult, C Pujara, Joe Root, Mitchell Starc

ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year

Kevin O'Brien (Ireland), Kyle Coetzer (Scotland), Ed Joyce (Ireland), Nawroz Mangal (Afghanistan)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Umar Gul, 2.2-0-6-5 v South Africa, Centurion, March 3, 2013

Martin Guptill, 101* (69b, 9x4, 6x6) v South Africa, East London, December 23, 2012

Brendon McCullum, 123 (58b, 11x4, 7x6) v Bangladesh, Pallekele, September 21, 2012

Ajantha Mendis, 4-2-8-6 v Zimbabwe, Hambantota, September 18, 2012

ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year

Suzie Bates (NZ), Shanel Daley (WI), Deandra Dottin (WI), Meg Lanning (Aus),

Sarah Taylor (Eng), Stafanie Taylor (WI)

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year

Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Ian Gould, Tony Hill, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Rodney Tucker.