ISLAMABAD - PML-N President Nawaz Sharif’s chances to get elected prime minister unopposed are swaying as the MQM announced voting for Nawaz Sharif but PPP President Amin Fahim said that his party would contest for premiership.

Amin Fahim, talking to media persons outside parliament, said that the PML-N sought PPP’s support for electing Nawaz Sharif unopposed but the PPP was going to field its candidate for the slot.

The PPP had withdrawn its candidates for the post of speaker and deputy speaker in the National Assembly in favour of PML-N’s candidate in the last minute.

On the other hand, the MQM announced on Monday that it would extend unconditional support to Mian Nawaz Sharif for the election of prime minister on June 5.

According to a statement, the MQM members will vote for Nawaz Sharif as the new prime minister.  The decision, it says, has been taken in the larger national interests.

The statement adds that MQM chief Altaf Hussain has also ratified the Coordination Committee’s decision to vote for Nawaz Sharif.

Earlier, a delegation of the MQM, led by Dr Farooq Sattar, held a meeting with Nawaz Sharif in Islamabad.

During the meeting, sources said, Nawaz Sharif vowed to take all political parties on board “to steer the country out of crisis”.

Sattar said that his party would support all the positive steps of the new government.

Sources said the MQM leaders were invited by the PML-N in a bid to get MQM support for Nawaz Sharif’s unopposed election.

Talking to the media afterwards, Sattar said the meeting was ‘accidental’ during which he felicitated Nawaz Sharif on his victory in May 11 elections. PML-N’s Ishaq Dar was also present in the meeting.

Separately, PML-N leader and expected interior minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan said that his party would formally approach the PPP for getting the prime minister elected unanimously.

On the eve of national assembly session, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan said the PPP would be requested not to field a candidate for the leader of the house in a bid to get the PM elected unanimously.