Newage/Master Paints, Royal Residencia/Learning Alliance and Wi-Tribe Shahsawars Tuesday registered victories on the opening day of the Bank Alfalah National Polo Championship for the Quaid-e-Azam Gold Cup 2015 here at the Lahore Polo Club ground.

In the first match of the day, the 11-goal rally of maestro Matias Vial Perez powered Newage/Master Paints to a thumping 14-7 victory over Daewoo Pakistan.

Daewoo Pakistan were off to flying start as they hammered two field goals – one each by Shah Qubilai Alam and Zain Khan Khakwani – to take an early lead of 2-1. But Matias then came from behind to smash three quick-fire back-to-back goals enabling Newage take 3-2 lead before the end of the chukker. Matias dominated the second chukker fully as he struck three more back-to-back goals which put Newage 6-2 ahead of Daewoo.

The third chukker too saw Matias continuing his goal scoring streak which stretched the Newage lead to 9-2. Atif Yar Tiwana then hit a field goal for Daewoo to reduce the deficit to 9-3. But it was top local player Hissam Ali Hyder who contributed a significant one to further strengthen Newage’s lead to 10-3.

A good fight was witnessed in the fourth chukker where Newage team managed four goals and Daewoo two. Matias and Hissam hit one each to put Newage in driving seat which was enjoying 12-3 lead. Qubilai scored one to reduce the lead to 12-4 but Adnan Jalil Azam and Matias maintained Newage supremacy as their one goal each widespread their team’s lead to 14-4. Qubilai managed one more to finish the chukker at 14-5.

The fifth and last chukker saw a bravo show by Daewoo players as Zain Khakwani and Qubilai Alam struck one goal each to finish the chukker 14-7. International umpires Ben Turner and Tomas Llorente officiated the match while Haseeb Minhas acted as referee.

Five-star Ahmed Ali Tiwana steered Royal Residencia/Learning Alliance to a thumping 13-7 triumph over Guard Group in another match of the day.

Ahmed Ali Tiwana stole the show with his inspiring five goals to help his team taste victory while he was ably assisted by magical polo player Juan Cruz Losada who hammered fantastic four. Dabbo Khan Niazi and Usman Haye also hammered two and one goal respectively for the winners. For the losing side, international polo player Julio Nevillo Astrada struck four goals, Taimur Ali Malik two and Abdul Rehman Monnoo one but their efforts went in vain as their team had to face 13-7 defeat. Ben Turner and Matias Vial Perez were the umpires and Shah Qubilai Alam was referee.

In the last match of the day, Wi-Tribe Shahsawars beat Master Paints 9-8 in a nail-biting match. The match was a see saw battle between the two aggressive teams and the ultimate winners were Shahsawars who managed victory with just one goal margin.

For the winning side, Raja Samiullah was top scorer with his striking four goals while Pedro Zacharias and Nafees Barry hammered two goals each while Bilal Haye hit one. Manuel Crespo though played brilliantly and amused the spectators to larger extent with his sterling six goals yet he was unable to help his team register win. Sufi M Amir also scored two for the losers.

Ben Turner and Juan Cruz Losada were umpires and Hissam Ali Hyder was referee.