ISLAMABAD - Wapda players Aqeel Khan and Sara Mansoor clinched the men and women titles of the Subh-e-Nau National Tennis Championship here yesterday.

Sara Mansoor brushed aside Sarah Mehboob in the women’s final at Senator Dilawar Abbas PTF Complex while Pakistan’s longest serving number 1 player Aqeel was too good for Ahmed Chaudhry, as he hammered youngster 6-2,6-2 to grab yet another men’s singles title to his already decorated crown. Sara Mansoor, Pakistan number 1 ladies player won the first set 6-4. She was in sublime form and was out to prove a point and wanted to get out of the frustration as she lost in the semifinals in the last week in Lahore against Rida Khalid. Sara Mansoor was awarded the match after Sarah Mehboob could not continue the match in second set due to shoulder injury.

Sara Mansoor received Rs 50,000 cash and shield while Sarah Mehboob was awarded Rs 25,000 cash and runners up shield. It is pertinent to mention here that the tournament was unique in a way that both male and female players were awarded same cash prizes, which was never witnessed in Pakistan tennis before.

Aqeel and Ahmed Ch however could not end up on winning note in men’s doubles final against Shahzad Khan and Yasir Khan. Shahzad/Yasir won doubles title 6-1 and 6-4. The winners won Rs 20,000 cash and winning shields while Aqeel/Ahmed got Rs 12,000 and runners up shields.

M Muzammil won Boys U-18 title with a comprehensive victory over Aman Atiq. Aman’s performance during the tournament remained excellent, however, he could not end up on winning note. Muzammil pocketed Rs 12,000 and winning shield, Aman received Rs 7,000 cash and runners up shield.

Hamza bin Rehan could not finish his brilliant performance during tournament as winner as he lost to Aqib Umer in a very well contested match which lasted for more than two hours. Hamza won first set 6-2 but Aqib showed his skills to bounce back. He won next two sets and match despite resistance from his opponent. Winner of Boys U-14 received a prize purse of Rs 10,000 and Rs 6,000 respectively.

Patron Pakistan Tennis Federation Senator Syed Dilawar Abbas was the chief guest, while PTF President Saleem Saifullah, former president Anwar Saifullah, Chairperson Subh-e-Nau Shahida Kausar Farooq and secretary PTF Khalid Rehmani were also present on the occasion.

Shahida thanked sponsors, media and other stakeholders for such a successful event. She said that Subh-e-Nau set a tradition by awarding equal prize money among men’s and ladies players. She demanded of the PTF officials to give more chance to female players so that they can compete well on international stage. Chief guest Syed Dilawar Abbas also appreciated SN’s efforts and said that SN’s events always carry something different and better for players, Anwar Saifullah, former president PTF, announced one hundred thousand rupees as support for SN’s tournament for ladies next year. Saleem Saifullah, President PTF announced to hold a joint ladies only tournament in collaboration with SN next year.