ISLAMABAD - In the present lot of the Supreme Court judges, six judges would become the chief justice of Pakistan.

On the retirement of Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jillani on July 5, 2014, there are 16 judges in the Supreme Court. Justice Athar Saeed would retire in September this year, while Justice Nasirul Mulk, Justice Jawwad S Khawaja, Justice Sarmad Jalal Osmany and Justice Ijaz Ahmed Chaudhry will retire by the end of next year.

Justice Nasirul Mulk will remain chief justice for 1 year, one month and 12 days and will retire on 16th August 2015. After him Justice Jawwad S Khawaja will be chief justice. His term will be the shortest as he will be the CJP for only 23 days and retire on 8th September 2015. The longest serving chief justice in all the chief justice will be Justice Gulzar Ahmed. He will be chief justice for two years, one month and 10 days from 21st December 2019 till 1st February 2022.

Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali will then become the chief justice for one year, three months and 22 days and will retire on 31st December 2016. Justice Saqib Nisar will be chief justice for two years and 17 days. Justice Asif Saeed Khan Khosa will then assume the charge as chief justice. He will be CJP for 11 months and three days. Justice Atta Muhammad Bandial will become chief justice for one year, seven months and 14 days from 2nd February 2022 till 16th September 2023.

Justice Sarmad Jalal Osmany will retire in October 2015, Justice Amir Hani Muslim in April 2017, Justice Ejaz Afzal in May 2018, Justice Ijaz Ahmed Chaudhry in December 2015, Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed in August 2019, Justice Iqbal Hameed-ur-Rehman in 2021, Justice Mushir Alam in August 2021 and Justice Dost Muhammad Khan in March 2018.