HAFIZABAD - The villagers of Nakki Chattha and over a dozen villages have protested against criminal negligence of Irrigation and Highway departments for not completing the construction of new bridge on Qadirabad-Balloki link canal near Nakki Chattha as the existing bridge is in dilapidating condition and might collapse at any time causing dreadful mishap.

They said that new bridge’s construction was started as far back in 2005 but it has not yet been completed. They demanded appropriate action against the contractor and the officials concerned for using delaying tactics and order for the construction of the bridge without further delay.

DBA elects new body unopposed: Rana Akbar Ali and Afzaal Ahmad Hanjra were declared elected unopposed as President and General Secretary respectively of District Bar Association Hafizabad for the current year, according to the notification issued by the Chairman Election Board Muhammad Siddique Bhatti.

Other Office-bearers elected are: Vice President Asim Masood Bukhari, Joint Secretary Muhammad Zalifqar Awan, Finance Secretary Mian Muhammad Shahid Nekokara, Library Secretary Haji Imran Ahmad Khan. The following were declared elected members Executive Council Malik Nazakat Ali Phulerwan, Syed Zile Hasnain Shirazi, Imdad Hussain Tarar, Sajid Mehmood Chattha, Qaiser Mehmood Chadhar, Kazim Ali Hanjra, Falak Sher Dahar, Rai Muhammad Arif Kharal, Irfan Ali Gujjar and Ch Anwaarul Haq.

According to Election Board Chairman Mian Muhammad Siddique Bhatti, he was nominated Chairman of the election board by the Acting President of the DBA on the order of Punjab Bar Council on December 29 and notification of the election conducted by him was legal and lawful but the so-called election held by Shirazi group is unlawful and uncalled for.

However, according to press release issued by Syed Nasir Hussain Shirazi group, the following were elected unopposed as of his bearers of the DBA for 2013. They are President Muhammad Farooq Khokhar, Vice President Malik Nasir Ayub Awan, General Secretary Ansar Mehmood Dhothar, Join Secretary Rana Adeel Maqbool, Finance Secretary Shehzad Ahmad and Library Secretary Rana Zulifqar Ahmad.