DHAKA - A characteristic captain’s knock under pressure from Angelo Mathews saw Sri Lanka end the qualifying round of the Asia Cup on an unbeaten note when they defeated hosts Bangladesh by three wickets with one over to spare at Dhaka on Thursday.

Sri Lanka, who will meet defending champions Pakistan in the final on Saturday, kept Bangladesh down to 204-9 before overcoming early jitters to chase down the target in 49 overs. The four-time champions won all their four matches, this time with some tight bowling and resilient batting led by skipper Angelo Mathews who hit an unbeaten 74.

It was Mathews and Chaturanga de Silva (44) who lifted Sri Lanka from a struggling 75-5 through their sixth wicket stand of 82 runs. Mathews was in command throughout his 103-ball knock, hitting seven boundaries and a six, while de Silva ably supported him during his 52-ball knock, smashing five fours. Despite two late wickets, Mathews kept his cool, hitting the winning boundary towards mid-wicket. Paceman Al-Amin Hossain finished with 2-42.

Bangladesh, whose dreams of reaching the final were shattered after Tuesday’s three wicket defeat against Pakistan, had a sniff of a victory after Al-Amin removed Kusal Perera (nought) and in-form Kumar Sangakkara (two) in his first two overs. Mahela Jayawardene (nought), Lahiru Thirimanne (33) and Ashan Priyanjan (24) were also removed before Mathews took over the responsibility of steering the team to winning shores.

Bangladesh, who won the toss and opted to bat, were left stranded after a good start. Spinners Priyanjan (2-11) and Ajantha Mendis (2-55) put the brakes on before Thisara Perera (2-29) and Suranga Lakmal (2-32) wrapped up the middle and lower order.

Opener Anamul Haque, who scored a brilliant hundred in Bangladesh’s highest one-day score of 326-3 against Pakistan on Tuesday, was once again the mainstay of the batting with an 86-ball 49. Anamul and Shamsur Rahman (39) gave the home team a solid 74-run start before Mendis struck twice, dismissing Shamsur and Mominul Haque (one) in the 18th over.

Anamul hit two boundaries and a six during his 86-ball knock while Shamsur’s 57-ball innings included six hits to the fence. Nasir Hossain (30) and Mohammad Mahmudullah (30) shared an innings-repairing sixth wicket stand of 55 to give the total some respectability. Shakib Al Hasan made 20. Five-time champions India crashed out of the event on Wednesday after losing two of their four matches against Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

Bangladesh, who were runners-up to Pakistan in the last Asia Cup in 2012, finished the event with four defeats in as many matches. Afghanistan was the fifth team who upset Bangladesh in their maiden appearance in the Asia Cup but lost their remaining three matches.



Anamul c Thirimanne b Priyanjan    49

Shamsur lbw b Mendis    39

Mominul b Mendis    1

Mushfiqur lbw b de Silva    4

Shakib c Mathews b Priyanjan    20

Nasir c Jayawardene b Lakmal    30

Mahmudullah b Lakmal    30

Ziaur b NLTC Perera    12

Arafat Sunny not out    2

Rubel b NLTC Perera    0

Al-Amin Hossain not out    0

EXTRAS: (b 4, lb 3, w 10)    17

TOTAL: (9 wickets; 50 overs)    204

FOW: 1-74, 2-76, 3-87, 4-106, 5-119, 6-174, 7-183, 8-203, 9-203

BOWLING: RAS Lakmal 10-0-32-2, NLTC Perera 8-0-29-2, SMSM Senanayake 10-1-37-0, PC de Silva 10-0-33-1, BAW Mendis 9-0-55-2, SMA Priyanjan 3-0-11-2.


MDKJ Perera c Anamul b Al-Amin    0

HDRL Thirimanne c Rubel b Arafat    33

KC Sangakkara c Nasir b Al-Amin    2

DPMD Jayawardene run out    0

SMA Priyanjan c Anamul b Ziaur    24

AD Mathews not out     74

PC de Silva c Anamul b Mahmudullah     44

NLTC Perera run out    15

SMSM Senanayake not out     7

EXTRAS: (b 4, w 5)    9

TOTAL: (7 wickets; 49 overs)    208

FOW: 1-0, 2-6, 3-8, 4-47, 5-75, 6-157, 7-193

BOWLING: Al-Amin Hossain 10-2-42-2, Rubel Hossain 6-0-25-0, Shakib Al Hasan 10-0-27-0, Ziaur Rahman 10-0-34-1, Arafat Sunny 7-0-46-1, Mahmudullah 6-1-30-1.

TOSS: Bangladesh

Player of the match: Ad Mathews (SL)

Umpires: BF Bowden (New Zealand)

and BNJ Oxenford (Australia)