LAHORE - A Lahore High Court (LHC) division bench on Tuesday suspended orders for a vote recount in PP-128. 

A two-member bench, headed by Justice Shams Mehmood Mirza, passed the orders on an intra court appeal, filed by returned Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Ghazanfar Abbas Shah from the constituency against an LHC single bench orders for vote recount.

As the proceedings started, the petitioner's counsel arguing before the court submitted that his client won from PP-128 Jhang with a lead of more than 3000 votes. He submitted that a recounting of 24 polling stations was held on an application of runner-up independent candidate, Khalid Mehmood Sargana, but the result remained unchanged. However, the rival candidate approached the LHC and a single bench ordered recounting in the constituency, he added.  He contended that the single bench orders were against facts and pleaded with the court to set aside it. He also requested for suspending orders of recounting till the decision of the appeal. At this, the court suspended orders for a vote recount in the constituency and issued notices to respondents including Khalid Mehmood Sargana for August 8 and sought a reply.  In an other case, the Lahore High Court (LHC) disposed of a petition for vote recount in NA-106 (Faisalabad).  The court directed the petitioner to approach the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP). Justice Mamoon Rashid Sheikh heard the petition filed by Runner-up Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Dr Nisar Ahmad Jutt seeking a vote recount in the constituency.

Earlier, the petitioner's counsel submitted that his client lost election to Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidate Rana Sanaullah from the constituency.

He pleaded with the court to order vote recount in the constituency as the returning officer conducted the recount but before the completion of the process, stopped it. However, Rana Sanaullah's counsel submitted that the matter was already pending with ECP. At this, the court disposed of the petition and directed petitioner to approach the Commission. Sanaullah, a former Punjab law minister, won the NA-106 seat with 106,310 votes, defeating PTI candidate Nisar Jutt who received 103,779 votes.