The Supreme Court of Pakistan has suspended Lahore High Court's decision regarding recounting of votes in Lahore's NA-131 seat on Wednesday.

Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafique had filed a petition for a recount in NA-131 from where Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan had emerged victorious. The PTI had challenged the decision of the high court in the apex court.

Saad Rafique had alleged that the presiding officer deliberately rejected hundreds of votes.

According to unofficial results of the ECP, PTI Chairman Imran Khan won the seat in the general elections defeating PML (N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafique by 680 ballots.

The PML-N leader requested the returning officer (RO) to conduct a recount of the rejected votes. Following the re-tabulation, Imran's margin of victory had reduced to 608 votes. 

Later Khawaja Saad had petitioned to recount of votes of the entire constituency which was rejected by the returning officer after that he challenged this decision in LHC's election tribunal. 

Yesterday ECP withholds Imran's success notification from the said constituency and PTI legal counsel Babar Awan contacted the apex court in this regard. 

As the hearing went underway today, the Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice Mian Saqib Nisar remarked that NA-131's result had already been declared. 

The court also rejected a plea by Jamshed Dasti for recounting in NA-182. The court asked him to take up the matter with the concerned forum.