HYDERABAD - Former Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene once again walked into record books after registering 12,000 ODI runs during his 118-run knock in the third match against India at the Raijv Gandhi International Stadium at Uppal on Sunday.

Putting up a rescue act for the visitors in a must-win game, Jayawardene joined the elite company of batting greats Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Sanath Jayasuriya and Kumar Sangakkara. Scoring his 17th ODI century, Jayawardene, 37, achieved the feat in his 426th ODI at an average of 33.01. The top-order batsman has also represented Sri Lanka in 149 Test matches. The Colombo-born player, who made his debut in 1997 against India at his home ground, still continues to be Sri Lanka's mainstay even after 17 years of his illustrious career.

Tendulkar though leads the list with 18,426 runs to his credit from 463 ODIs during his 24-year long career. Jayawardene can still play catch up with team-mate Sangakkara, who is fourth in the list with 12,918 runs in 382 ODIs.

Former Australian skipper Ponting (13,704 runs) is second in the chart while ex-Lankan opener Jayasuriya (13,430) stands a close third. Coming in at No.4 today, Jayawardene combined with Tillakaratne Dilshan to stitch up a 105-run partnership and give some respectability to the visitior's total.

The sporting Uppal crowd not only stood up to Jayawardene's extra-ordinary feat, which came in the 43rd over off Ravichandran Ashwin, but also gave a standing ovation to the star batsman as he walk back post his marathon innings. The ever-dependable Jayawardene has accumulated 165 runs in the series so far.

top scorers in one-dayers

No    Name    Years    Matches    Runs

1    Sachin Tendulkar    1989-2012    463    18426

2    Ricky Ponting    1995-2012    375    13704

3    Sanath Jayasurya    1989-2011    445    13430

4    Kumar Sangakkara    2000-    383    12918

5    Mahela Jayawardene    1998-     426    12002

6    Inzamam-ul-Haq    1991-2007    378    11739

7    Jacques Kallis    1996-2014    328    11579

8    Sourav Ganguly    1992-2007    311    11363

9    Rahul Dravid    1996-2011    344    10889

10    Brain Lara    1990-2007    299    10405