LAHORE - PML-N central leader Hamza Shehbaz Sharif has said legislation will be carried out to make the local government institutions more powerful.

“Law will also be framed to give more powers to the local bodies representatives for utilising the funds to solve problems at the grass root through the development schemes,” Hamza said while talking to elected LB members of the party from Kasur and Nankana Sahib here yesterday.

Hamza said the party would live up to the confidence the people had reposed by giving it landslide victory in the LB polls. “Like the general seats, a clean and sincere representation on merit will be brought to the reserved seats of women, minorities, workers and the youth,” Hamza Shahbaz said adding, the government strongly desires to get the problems of the masses solved on their doorsteps.

Hamza also interviewed the aspirants for the LB seats of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the said districts. A number independently elected representatives from the same also announced to join the PML-N.

Anti-corruption walk: Punjab University Hailey College of Commerce on Thursday organised walk to create awareness against corruption while Institute of Applied Psychology (IAP) also organised poster competition in this regard.

The HCC students were bearing placards, banners and posters inscribed with anti-corruption slogans. A seminar and skit were also organized highlighting the problems created by the menace of corruption in the society.

Meanwhile, a meeting of Punjab University Advanced Studies and Research Board (AS&RB) was held under the chairmanship of Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Mujahid Kamran here on Thursday which approved 14 PhD synopses, 14 evaluation reports, 16 panel of examiners, 4 extension cases and 4 miscellaneous cases.

Prof Dr Ismatullah Zahid, Prof Dr Zakria Zakar, Prof Dr Muhammad Iqbal Chawla, Prof Dr Hassan Mobin Alam, Prof Dr Shahid Kamal, Prof Dr Javed Iqbal Qazi, Prof Dr Hafeez-ur-Rehman, Prof Dr Tahira Basharat, Prof Dr Moeen-ud-din-Nizami, Prof Dr Khalid Hussain, Dr Shazia Naureen Qureshi, Registrar Prof Dr Liaqat Ali, Controller of Examinations Prof Dr Shahid Munir, Chairperson DPCC Prof Dr Kanwal Ameen, and Additional Registrar Dr Kamran Abid attended the meeting.