LAHORE - Though PTI and PML-N were two major contestants of the local government polls, but the ruling party, having better sense of art of electioneering, gained an edge over Imran Khan’s party.

However, PTI emerged as a runner up of almost each PML-N winner in the electoral battle. At the same time, Khan’s party established the fact that the party, if transformed into a real political organization, could be a true challenger to the ruling party in the Punjab.

According to the PTI data available with The Nation, the party has grabbed 484 out of 3,894 slots of union council chairmen in the Punjab, approximately 10 percent of the total share in the local government system. The share, if analysed individually, shows that PTI grabbed 50 percent share only in Mianwali district, the home constituency of Imran Khan as the party chairman had made a two-day election campaign tour to his district before the local polls.

The PTI had divided its local government units on the basis of each provincial assembly constituency. The party grabbed maximum number of six Punjab Assembly seats from Rawalpindi district, but won only 15 out of 174 union council chairmen’s seats in the local government polls, showing the poorest results after Lahore. In Mianwali district, PTI has three Punjab Assembly seats but it was personal appearance of Imran Khan, which enabled the party to grab 50 percent share.

In Multan where Khan’s party has two Punjab Assembly seats with the surprising electioneering of Shah Mehmood Qureshi who was in charge of South Punjab local polls, grabbed 31 out of 185 union council chairmen seats.

In Lahore, the provincial capital on which PTI focused much in the election campaign, received a crushing defeat at the hands of PML-N as it could win only 10 of 274 seats. It has three seats of Punjab Assembly in Lahore. Khan’s party failed to grab even a single union council chairman seat from Jhang district’s 91 seats.

The PTI had secured one seat each of Punjab Assembly in Layyah, Dera Ghazi Khan, Faisalabad, Okara, Bahawalnagar, Vehari, Hafizabad, Rajanpur, Attock and Sahiwal.

In Layyah district, PTI grabbed 7 seats of union council chairmen out of 48. It secured 4 union council chairmen seats out of 115 in Dera Ghazi Khan. The party won 51 seats of union councils chairmen from Faisalabad out of 189. In Okara, it grabbed 14 union council chairmen seats out of 140.

It secured 13 seats of union council chairmen from Bahawalnagar out of 135. Vehari district gave 18 seats of union council chairmen to Imran Khan’s party out of 105. Similarly, Hafizabad reposed confidence in the leadership of 18 out of 46 PTI union council chairmen.

The people of Rajanpur district gave 16 seats of union council chairmen out of 69 to Khan’s party. In Attock, PTI grabbed 9 out of 65 union council chairmen seats, while in Sahiwal it secured 14 out of 100 seats.

In 21 districts of Punjab, PTI has not a single member of provincial assembly while the performance of the party in the local government polls showed the following results: In Gujrat it secured 20 out of 129 seats of union council chairmen, while in Kasur it grabbed 32 out of 125. Nankana Sahib gave 16 seats to PTI out of 65, while Chakwal reposed confidence in 5 out of 7 1candidates of Khan.

Bhakkar district gave only 2 out of 64 seats of union council chairmen to PTI, while Toba Tek Singh reposed confidence in 16 of 85 candidates of Khan. The PTI secured two seats from Chiniot out of 39, while it won 12 seats of union council chairmen out of 186. In Sheikhupura PTI secured 13 seats out of 99, while it won 12 seats out of 166 from Gujranwala.

In Mandi Bahauddin, Khan’s party won 7 out of 80 seats of union council chairmen. It also secured seven seats from Jhelum out of 44. Sialkot district gave 12 out of 148 seats to PTI candidates, while it secured 17 out of 98 seats from Narowal.

The PTI won 11 out of 48 seats from Khushab district, while it grabbed 9 out of 70 seats from Lodhran. Pakpattan district gave 13 seats out of 54 to Khan’s candidates.

In Khanewal, PTI won 13 seats again out of 135, while Bahawalpur gave 9 out of 109 seats to PTI.

In Muzaffargarh District, Khan’s candidates won 10 out of 111 seats, while it grabbed only three out of 139 seats from Rahim Yar Khan.