LAHORE - SAGA Punjab beat SAGA Baluchistan by 9 wickets to set final clash against SAGA KPK in the SAGA Premier League (SPL) T20 Women Cricket Tournament being played here at the Gaddafi Stadium Lahore on Thursday.

SAGA Punjab needed big-margin win to make their way to the final which they managed by thrashing SAGA Baluchistan by 9 wickets in the first match of the third day of the tournament. SAGA Punjab captain Javairia Khan won the toss and decided to bowl first. SAGA Baluchistan players played steady innings and gave 103 runs target to Punjab for victory. They scored 102 runs for 5 wickets in 20 overs with Natalia Pervaiz hitting unbeaten 24, Hafsa Khalid 22 and Marina Iqbal 16 runs. Subhana Tariq bagged two wickets while Waheeda Akhtar and Kainat Imtiaz got one wicket each for Punjab.

Although SAGA Punjab didn’t take a good start as they lost their first wicket at 12 runs yet their outstanding players Javaria Khan and Muneeba Siddiqui played extraordinary innings and guided their team impressive nine-wicket triumph. Javaria hammered unbeaten 55 runs while Muneeba Siddiqui contributed sparkling unbeaten 44 in their team’s win as Punjab achieved the required target for the loss of just one wicket in 15.3 overs.

Interestingly, SAGA Sindh needed a big-margin win against SAGA KPK and if they had to manage this victory, they could leave behind SAGA KPK and could manage to book final spot against SAGA Punjab but SAGA KPK continued their good form and winning spree and defeated SAGA Sindh by 22 runs.

SAGA KPK, batting first, posted 112-6 on the board in the allotted 20 overs. Umaima Sohail (27), Almas Akram (22*), Saniya Khan (15*) played impressive innings and helped KPK post a decent total to defend. Hafsa Amjad (3-16) and Bakhtawar Iqbal (2-23) bowled well for Sindh.

It was once again Almas Akram (3-11), assisted by Nasira Sindhu (2-14), who played significant role and helped KPK bowl out SAGA Sindh to 90 runs in 19.2 overs. Rabia Shah (34) and Sidra Amin (17) were key contributors of SAGA Sindh.


SAGA Baluchistan: 102 for 5 wickets in 20 overs (Natalia Pervaiz 24*, Hafsa Khalid 22, Marina Iqbal 16; Subhana Tariq 2-23, Waheeda Akhtar 1-10, Kainat Imtiaz 1-26)

SAGA Punjab: 105 for 1 wicket in 15.3 overs (Javaria Khan 55*, Muneeba Siddiqui 44*)

SAGA KPK: 112 for 6 wickets in 20 overs (Umaima Sohail 27, Almas Akram 22*, Saniya Khan 15*; Hafsa Amjad 3-16, Bakhtawar Iqbal 2-23)

SAGA Sindh: 90 for 10 wickets in 19.2 overs (Rabia Shah 34, Sidra Amin 17; Almas Akram 3-11, Nasira Sindhu 2-14).