The United States (US) has placed Pakistan on a special watch list of countries that violate religious freedoms, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo announced in a statement on Tuesday.

“I also placed Comoros, Russia, and Uzbekistan on a Special Watch List for governments that have engaged in or tolerated ‘severe violations of religious freedom,’” Pompeo said, in a statement.

Pompeo further said that Washington also designated China, Iran, North Korea, Saudi Arabia and Sudan as ‘countries of particular concern’ under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998.

The US said that Pakistan has been added due to the violation of religious freedom, ramping up pressure over its treatment of minorities. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said that he had designated.