ISLAMABAD - The Council of Islamic Ideology (CII) has forwarded 30 nominations for appointing its 10 new members in place of those retiring by March.

"A list of 30 nominations has been forwarded to the prime minister through the Ministry of Law and Justice for finalising names of the new members," official sources said. The council consists of 20 members and half of them will complete their tenure in next three months. Each member is appointed for a period of three years.

"Seven members are completing their tenure in January while three will retire in March," the sources told APP.

Those retiring on January 22 include Mufti Ghulam Mustafa Rizvi, Syed Saeed Ahmed Shah Gujrati, Hafiz Mahmood Tahir Ashrafi, Allama Muhammad Yousaf Awan, Mian Abdul Baki and Mufti Muhammad Ibrahim Qadri while Muhammad Mushtaq Kalota will retire on January 27.

Allama Muhammad Amin Shahidi, Maulana Fazl Ali and Dr Mufti Muhammad Idrees Somroo would complete their term on March 3.