ISLAMABAD – Petitioners on Tuesday moved the Supreme Court against Contempt of Court Bill 2012 saying it was aimed at delaying the contempt proceedings, saving specific persons and meant to frustrate the constitutional provisions.

Two separate petitions have been filed in the Supreme Court by Muhammad Siddique Baloch through Ikram Chaudhry and Mehmood Akhtar Naqvi, a social worker.

Mr Baloch, in his petition, prayed that the Contempt of Court Bill, passed by the National Assembly was ultra-vires of the Constitution and against the Article 8 of the Constitution. He stated that the impugned bill/law was also a violation of Article 2-A, 4, 5, 25, 175, 203, 204 and 248 of the 1973 Constitution.

Making Federation through Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs party, he stated that the respondent through Contempt of Court Bill/Law 2012 has unconstitutionally and unlawfully attempted to make the constitutional provisions ineffective, which was not warranted by any law. “The law is discriminatory, against principle of equality of citizens and its aim is to curtail the independence of judiciary.”

He further prayed that the impugned law is the “result of legislative competence and being without jurisdiction, therefore, should be declared ultra-vires and without legal effect.”

He said the bill passed by the majority members of National Assembly is another NRO. The purpose of the bill is to protect certain important persons and to obstruct the implementation of lawful orders of the courts and to pave way for the negation of accountability process.

He stated that during the last four-and-half-year efforts were made to violate the constitution and the Supreme Court judgments. The environment of corruption and mal administration continued and through many orders including NRO hundreds of cases were got decided from different courts. The apex court after striking down the NRO asked the Chief Executive to write letter to Swiss authorities to reopen graft cases against the beneficiaries including President Asif Ali Zardari. Former Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani, who refused to write letter to Swiss authorities, ultimately was disqualified as member of National Assembly and had to leave his office as well.

Another petitioner Mehmood Akhtar Naqvi, besides federation, has also made Prime Minister Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, secretaries law ministry, establishment and cabinet divisions as respondents in his applications.

Petition filed in SC against contempt of court bill