Chief Minister Najam Sethi has constituted an inquiry committee headed by Communication and Works Secretary Abid Javed to probe the LDA Plaza fire. The committee will submit its report to the Chief Minister within three days.

Nayyar Ali Dada, Akbar Ali, Haroon Rafique, Ghulam Sarwar, Prof Dr Muhammad Ilyas and Prof Dr Zahid Ahmad Siddique were named as committee members. Javed said that eyewitness or citizens having any information about the incident can appear before the inquiry committee on Sunday from 9pm to 3pm at the office of Communication and Works Department Old Anarkali for recording statement.

 rumour rejected

An LDA spokesman rejected rumours about the burning of record of Metro Bus Service and property in the Egerton Road tragedy. “Citizens needn’t worry as property record is safe at Johar Town LDA Office and the MBS data is safe at Tepa Office.”