Director General,Rangers (Punjab), Maj. Gen. Mian Hilal Hussain on Friday visited polling stations in Rahim Yar Khan, Dera Ghazi Khan, Rajanpur and Bahawalpur to review the security arrangements made for the general elections being held on Saturday (today).

He met with Sector Commanders and jawans of Rangers.

In a meeting with Sector Commanders and civil administration of concerned districts, DG Rangers asked his Sector Commanders to beef up the security measures further for holding of free, fair and peaceful elections. 

Addressing a high-level meeting with civil administration, he said that Rangers troops were ready all the time to confront with any untoward situation and on election day they would also perform as usual.

Meanwhile, in order to ensure free, fair, and transparent elections, a high-level meeting was held at the central police office under the chairmanship of Inspector General of Police (IGP) Punjab, Aftab Sultan, to finalise arrangements for foolproof security in the province.

Senior police officers also attended the meeting.

According to details, at least 265304 officials including 112593 police officials, 23688 police Qaumi Razakars, and 129023 officials of Special Police Force would be deployed at 40221 polling stations across the province. At least 508 teams of Elite Police Force would also perform security duties at the polling stations.

It was also decided in the meeting that additional police force would be deployed at the sensitive polling station including 4461 most sensitive of A-category and 11606 sensitive polling stations of B-category.

In order to ensure implementation of the code of conduct for the elections, there would be complete ban on display of arms and show of carrying of any type of weapon in the premises of polling stations. The violators of the code of conduct would be dealt strictly.

The units of Pak Army and Pakistan Rangers Punjab would remain on standby and could be called in case of any emergency.

A strategy was also finalised to provide foolproof security to the international journalists and delegations covering elections 2013 in the Punjab province.