KARACHI - The PPP Sindh Election Cell has strongly protested over withdrawal of the security of former Sindh chief minister and PPP Sindh president, Qaim Ali Shah.

It demanded the Election Commission of Pakistan to issue order to provide security to Shah and other leaders immediately.

In a statement issued by the PPP, it said that it was the responsibility of the caretaker government to provide security to the PPP leadership, for which it has evolved a strategy. He questioned the ECP that when federal government finalised a strategy to provide security to the political leadership, than why the security of Qaim Ali Shah withdrawn by the ECP.

The PPP statement said that by withdrawing the security seemed that government waiting any incident occurred with the leaders.

The PPP Election Cell, which comprised of party’s provincial general secretary Taj Haider, Rukhsana Bangash, Senator Saeed Ghani and others, said that when security was being provided to PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif, Punjab’s former chief minister Shahbaz Sharif, who haven’t any threat due to their ideological similarity with the banned organisations, than why the security of former chief minister Sindh Qaim Ali Shah was withdrawn.

The PPP leaders alleged that by withdrawing the security of the former Sindh chief minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah proved the partiality of the caretaker government and its encouragement towards terrorist organizations.

PPP demanded of the caretaker government to provide security to the PPP leadership immediately.

MWM’S 12 CANDIDATES CLEARED TO CONTEST POLLS: Nomination papers of Majlis Wahdat-e-Muslimeen’s 12 candidates have been approved and they will contest elections on National Assembly and Sindh Assembly seats from Karachi.

Allama Ali Anwar, a blind cleric, is candidate from PS-102. Khanam Sarwat Askari is a woman candidate of the MWM from PS-118.

Those other candidates whose nomination papers have been approved included Salman Hussaini from PS-94, Shakir Ali Rajani from PS-117, Mohammad Hussain Jafari from PS-119, Allama Deedar Ali Jalbani from PS-126 and and Hassan Abbas Rizvi from PS-127.

Those other candidates whose nomination papers have been approved for elections to National Assembly included: Ali Hassan Naqvi from NA-250. Maulana Hussain Karimi from NA-252, Asghar Zaidi from NA-253, Dr Hassan Jafar from NA-257 and Maulana Ali Hussaini from NA-258.

Asghar Zaidi, incharge of MWM Karachi chapter’s election cell, said that for the first time, MWM had fielded its candidates to contest elections and they are hopeful that Pakistani voters respond to their appeal positively.

“We are part of the grand alliance of Pakistanis who stand shoulder to shoulder against the terrorists and fanatics. We shall defeat the ideology of hate and terrorism by the power of ballot,” he vowed.