LAHORE- PML-N seemingly has made an effort for ‘even distribution’ of ministries for the Punjab cabinet despite the fact that Central Punjab has once again been given a big share.

Earlier, PML-N had given major share to Central Punjab in the federal cabinet by appointing nine ministers and four state ministers from this region of the province whereas the ruling party had appointed only two federal ministers and two state ministers from North Punjab and one minister and state minister each from South Punjab.

PML-N has, however, appointed five ministers each from North and South Punjab with 11 ministers from Central Punjab in the 21-member Punjab cabinet.

The ruling party has appointed five ministers each from the remote regions of North and South Punjab for representation in the provincial cabinet, but once again it has given major share to Central Punjab.

It is a general impression among the people of the remote regions of North and South Punjab that PML-N will give more representation to those areas that gave the party a sweeping mandate, enabling it to form comfortable governments at the Centre and in Punjab.

The provincial ministers belonging to Central Punjab are: Rana Sanaullah Khan and Tahir Khalil Sindhu from Faisalabad, Mian Mujataba Shujaur Rahman, Rana Mashhood Ahmad Khan, Bilal Yasin and Begum Zakiya Shahnawaz from Lahore, Malik Nadeem Kamran from Sahiwal, Atta Muhammad Manika from Pakpattan, Dr Farrukh Javed from Pakpattan-cum-Arifwala, Begum Hamida Waheed-ud-Din from Mandi Bahauddin and Mian Yawar Zaman from Okara.

The provincial cabinet members from North Punjab are: Raja Ashfaq Sarwar from Murree-Rawalpindi, Col (r) Shuja Khanzada and Sher Ali Khan from Attock, Tanvir Aslam Malik from Chakwal and Asif Malik from Khushab.

The provincial ministers from South Punjab are: Malik Iqbal Channar from Bahawalpur, Haroon Ahmed Sultan Bukhari from Muzaffargarh, Asif Saeed Manais from Vehari, Abdul Waheed Chaudhry from Multan and Chaudhary Muhammad Shafique from Rahim Yar Khan. 

The members of the new provincial cabinet who were part of Musharraf era’s PML-Q are: Begum Hamida Waheed-ud-Din, Atta Manika, Dr Farrukh Javed, Col (r) Shuja Khanzada, Tanvir Aslam Malik, Sher Ali Khan, Haroon Ahmed Sultan Bukhari and Asif Saeed Manais.

It may be mentioned here that some of these cabinet members had thumped the provincial assembly desks when the then chief minister Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi had announced they would elect Pervez Musharraf president of the country for 10 times.