Rawalpindi - The District Election Commission (DEC) on Thursday displayed the list of new constituencies for Local Bodies (LB) elections in the district after completing the first phase of delimitation. According to new list, the old 46 Union Councils (UCs) were turned away whereas 14 new UCs were formed in the district while keeping in the view the population size, adjoining areas and public facilities. From now on, there will be 996 wards in UCs of Rawalpindi district. Similarly, the rural UC was made with quota of 12, 136 voters whereas urban UC was constituted with quota of 18,000 voters in the new delimitation.

DEC also constituted a delimitation authority to receive suggestions and objections about the constituencies of Rawalpindi district. According to an official of DEC, a final notification would be issued on July 30 after probing all the suggestions and objections and with issuance of the notification; all the town and tehsil committees would be abolished automatically.

Talking to media men, District Election Commissioner (DEC)/District Delimitation Officer Nadim Zubair, all the delimitation processes completed in time period of two and half months. The delimitation process was completed while keeping in view the population size, adjoining areas and public easiness.

Replying to a query, DEC said that the lists of new delimitation would be remained displaying in offices of DEC, assistant commissioner of tehsils and in UCs. The DEC would receive the suggestions and objections of public from June 11 to 30 whereas district delimitation authority would hear the objections from 1st July to 15 July. On July 28, he said, the delimitation notification would be issued.