MELBOURNE (Agencies) - The Australian selectors on Friday announced a 15-member squad for the forthcoming tour of India. Ricky Ponting, who was said to be doubtful following the surgery on his wrists, has recovered and is back at the helm of affairs. So is Matthew Hayden, who abandoned the tour of Caribbean and the one-day series against Bangladesh, owing to an achilles-tendon injury. The selectors have drafted in four new faces into the team; Bryce McGain and Jason Krejza - the two specialist spinners are with the Australian squad for the first time, while fast bowlers Peter Siddle and Douglas Bowler too stand a chance to win their first Test caps. Commenting on the selection of the team, Cricket Australia's chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said, "The tour of India is an icon series for the Australian team and the selection process has been a highly detailed exercise. A lot of planning has gone in to how we want to play against the Indian team and how we go about that in Indian conditions." He further expressed disappointment that the two three-day matches in India against India A, which were to serve as selection matches to fill the vacant positions in the team, didn't deliver any results as most of the two matches were lost to rain. He said, "It was disappointing that most play in the two three-day games of the Australia A Tour of India was affected by rain and as a result, we have decided to take a 15-man squad. Given the mass of cricket that will be played and now the extra time in training prior to the series beginning, we felt having a squad of 15 would be beneficial for additional player preparation." On why Andrew Symonds was not selected, Hilditch clarified that Symonds was currently going through a rehabilitation process in the aftermath of the fishing saga, and that Cricket Australia had declared him unavailable for selection. He said, "Cricket Australia has told us that selectors will be advised once Andrew can be considered again for selection and we hope we can look forward to that advice in due course because as we all know, a fit and fully-committed Andrew Symonds can be a world beater. "In the meantime, our advice was that he was not available to be considered for selection this time." Clarifying on the current status of the injuries to Ricky Ponting and Matthew Hayden, Hilditch said, "Matthew Hayden has again been selected subject to fitness however his and Ricky Ponting's rehabilitation has gone very well to date and we expect both will play a large role in the tour." The 15-member squad for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy: Ricky Ponting (c), Matthew Hayden, Phil Jaques, Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, Simon Katich, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin, Bryce McGain, Jason Krejza, Stuart Clark, Douglas Bollinger, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Brett Lee. Border-Gavaskar Trophy - itinerary: Sep 27 - 28: Tour Match Vs. Rajasthan Centre of Excellence Oct 2 - 5: Tour Match Oct 9 - 13: 1st Test at Bangalore Oct 17 - 21: 2nd Test at Mohali Oct 29 - Nov 2: 3rd Test at Delhi Nov 6 - 10: 4th Test at Nagpur.