Rawalpindi - The oath taking ceremony of newly elected councillors of Chaklala Cantonment Board (CCB) was held here on Monday.

Station Commander and President CCB Brig Rana Zahid took oath from newly elected councillors. PML-N MNA Malik Abrar Ahmed, former MPA Chaudhry Ayaz, Jamat-e-Islami (JI) District Ameer Shamas-ur-Rehman Swati and others were also present on the occasion.

Addressing the ceremony, Station Commander Brig Rana Zahid said that the election of CCB was held in free and partial manner after 18 years. He said that the newly elected councillors have to take care of people of their wards regardless of their affiliations with any political party. He asked the councillors to remain in touch with masses and encourage the victims of rain and other natural disasters. He said that the councillors should focus on tax collection and public welfare and let the board’s executive officers run other affairs.

At the end, the station commander congratulated all the elected councillors.

It may be noted that out of 10 elected councillors, only one councillor belonged to JI while the rest of them belong to PML-N.