PESHAWAR - The 28th edition of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Sports Writers Association (KPSWA) annual sports awards ceremony will be held on October 16 at Peshawar Press Club.

The decision in this connection was taken in a meeting of the KPSWA here at Peshawar Press Club with president Nadir Khawjah in the chair. Chairman of the awards committee Ijaz Ahmad (APP), members Azmat Ullah (Sports Plus) and Shahab (Daily Aaj), secretary Asim Sheraz (KhyberStars International Sports Magazine), members of executive committee comprising Jehanzeb Siddique (The Express), Ghani-ur-Rehman (Daily Pakistan), Abid Khan (Samaa TV) and Shakeel-ur-Rehman (Sunday Sports) also attended the meeting.

After thorough discussion, the meeting has given approval of holding the event on 16th. A total of 12 awards will be presented to those male and female players who excelled at national and international levels. The meeting was told that KP Minister for Education Mushtaq Ghani, adviser to chief minister on sports Amjad Afridi, vice chancellor Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan Dr Ehsan Ullah will grace the occasion as guests of honor. Players and members of various sports associations and federations from FATA and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa will also be invited for the award ceremony.

Those who get the awards comprising M Rizwan (cricket), Hamza Sharif (football), Danish Atlas (squash), Zahid Ullah (hockey), Abdur Rehman (karate), Hamza Ibrahim (badminton), Salman Afridi (cricketer from FATA), Ijaz Umar (lawn tennis), M Shahban (scout FATA), M Fayyaz (special person cricket), Noushin Shah (baseball) and Shakeela Naz (cricket).

All the awards winners have advised to have in their national blazer as dress code. The meeting also approved to have more activities at grassroots level besides finalizing names for the emerging sports writers. A committee headed by Jehanzeb Siddique was also constituted to finalise ways and means including expenditure to be occurred on this year foreign tour for the members of the KPSWA.