LAHORE - The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) selection committee led by Moin Khan has decided not to replace injured Ahmed Shehzad with any one rather retained the rest of the 15 players for the second Test against New Zealand commencing from Monday.

Shehzad has been advised three weeks of rest after sustaining a blow to his head, which led to a cheekbone fracture. He was hit by a bouncer from New Zealand’s Corey Anderson in the first Test on a career best 176, which dismissed him hit-wicket and also caused him to suffer the fracture. The in-form opener returned to Pakistan but remains optimistic of regaining fitness within two weeks and representing Pakistan in the third Test, which starts from November 26.

Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 248 runs in the first Test; their third win on the trot after a 2-0 whitewash of Australia and the side is looking to maintain the stability that has given them so much recent success.

“There is only one change to the side that won successive Abu Dhabi Tests against Australia and New Zealand and it is an enforced once, owing to the head injury that Shehzad has suffered,” said chief selector and team manager Moin. “Pakistan is keen and confident of maintaining its winning spree in the remaining two Tests as well.”

Moin admitted that it was a blow to lose the opener as he had been in good form and added that the team management will decide who would come into the team in his place. Pakistan have the luxury of having two more openers in the touring party with Taufiq Umar and Shaan Masood both waiting in the wings.

Meanwhile, Shehzad said he was hoping for a quick recovery so that he could be back to cash in on his good form. He was dismissed hit wicket on the ball that caused him injury, after scoring a career-best 176.

"It's a routine thing in cricketer's life and I am recovering well," Shehzad told the reporters at the NCA Lahore. "My form will remain intact and I will surely carry it on my return soon." "Cricket is not for a chicken hearted player you have to brave enough for it," he said. "If you are doing something for your country, these kind of niggles are nothing."

15-member Pakistan squad:

Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Ehsan Adil, Haris Sohail, Imran Khan, Misbahul Haq (capt), M Hafeez, M Talha, Rahat Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Shan Masood, Taufiq Umar, Yasir Shah, Younus Khan and Zulfiqar Babar.