ISLAMABAD     -     The Commission on Science and Technology for Sustainable Development in the South (COMSATS) was established with the objective to support and catalyze the socio-economic uplift of the developing countries by promoting S&T through South-South Cooperative mechanisms. The Organization serves as an institutional platform for South-South and North-South technical cooperation in its twenty-seven (27) Member States in areas of mutual interest, such as education, information technology, environment, energy, and health.