ISLAMABAD -  The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) yesterday suspended membership of 336 parliamentarians for concealing their assets and liabilities.

A statement issued by the ECP said that 22 members of the Senate, including Senator Saeed Ghani, Senator Nehal Hashmi, Senator Saleem Zia, Senator Brisstor Saif, Senator Nasreen Jalil and Atta-ur-Rehman, have been suspended. The ECP also suspended 66 members of the National Assembly, including opposition leader Syed Khursheed Shah, Sheikh Rashid, Federal Minister Khurram Dastagir, Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhary, Talal Chaudhary, Saira Afzal Tarar, Pir Ameer Hassnat. Furthermore, the commission also suspended 137 members of Punjab Assembly, 49 each of Sindh and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa assemblies and 13 of Balochistan Assembly.

The ECP said that whereas, sub-section (1) of Section 25A of the Senate (Election) Act, 1975 provides that every member of the Senate shall submit a statement of assets and liabilities of his/her own, spouse and dependents annually to the Commission by the thirtieth day of September each year. Whereas, sub-section (3) of Section 25A further provides that the Commission shall, by the fifteenth day of October each year, notify the names of the members who fail to file statements of assets and liabilities within the period specified in sub-section (1) thereof and by an order, direct that such Member shall cease to function till such statement is submitted.

The ECP on Friday asked the parliamentarians to submit the details of annual statement of assets and liabilities of their-selves, spouses and dependents for the year 2015-16 by October 15.

The offices of ECP including Election Commission Secretariat and all the four provincial assemblies remained open on Saturday till 4:00pm to receive annual statements of Parliamentarians.