DUBAI - The International Cricket Council’s Executive Board has voted to split the role of the president and the chairman as recommended by the contentious independent governance review headed by Lord Woolf from 2014 onwards. After the second of its scheduled 2012 meetings here this weekend, the ICC’s Executive Board has decided to recommend one of the suggestions made by the Woolf report to its annual conference in Kuala Lumpur in June. “Following a Board resolution agreed at the last meeting, the directors confirmed the necessary amendments to the constitution to split the role of the ICC president and chairman of the Board,” the ICC said in a statement. “The amended Articles will now be placed before the ICC Annual Conference in Kuala Lumpur at the end of June for consideration and approval,” it added. “Having considered several options to deal constructively with the Woolf Report, the ICC Board agreed that, in the first instance, there was a real need for further discussion among the Directors and Members in an effort to build consensus. “In addition to already agreeing the split to the president/chairman’s role and creating targeted funding for Members in line with the Woolf recommendations, the Directors were keen to begin discussion among themselves to develop a clearer understanding of the role of the ICC.” If the recommendations are implemented, the role of the ICC president will be reformed after the Annual Conference in 2014 to separate the chairman of the Board position from that of the ICC president. “Until then, the current roles for the ICC president and Vice president will remain, after which the Vice-Presidency will cease to exist and a new chairman of the Board post created,” the ICC stated. The term of office for the new ceremonial role for the president will be one year and will rotate, as it currently does, among the members. The president will not be a voting member of the Board. The chairman, who will be appointed by the Board for a maximum of six years (three x two year terms) will also be non-voting.  “Until the president’s role has been confirmed, the joint nomination of the Bangladesh Cricket Board and Pakistan Cricket Board for the role of vice president 2012-14 was deferred until the amended Articles have been considered by ICC Annual Conference,” the governing body said. The Nominations Committee has short listed four candidates who will be interviewed to replace outgoing ICC CEO Haroon Lorgat, who vacates his position at the end of the Annual Conference in June 2012. Clive Lloyd, whose term as chairman of the Cricket Committee had recently expired, will be requested to continue until the ICC Annual Conference in June. The Board also ratified the re-appointment of Clare Connor as the chairperson of the ICC Women’s Committee, for a second three-year term. Former Indian all-rounder Ravi Shastri has been re-appointed for a second three-year term representing the media in the Chief Executives’ Committee. David White, the New Zealand Cricket chief executive, has been named as the CEC representative. John Stephenson has been appointed as the MCC’s representative.The International Cricket Council’s Executive Board on Monday decided to increase the number of teams in the biennial World Twenty20 Championships from 12 to 16 for the editions commencing 2014. During a weekend meeting, the ICC Board received a report of the strategic discussions held at the Chief Executive’s Committee (CEC) in March and confirmed the “increase, from 2014 onwards, the number of teams participating in the ICC World T20 from 12 to 16 men’s teams. “The event should remain a joint men’s and women’s event,” it said. “Three additional Twenty20 Internationals may be played in the year in which the ICC World Twenty20 is being staged provided there is a corresponding reduction in the maximum number of permitted ODIs (as per ICC Scheduling guidelines - the current regulations permit a maximum of 12 T20Is for each Full Member in any one year).” Lorgat said the amount of cricket was discussed before the decision. “The need to manage volume of cricket was considered when agreeing to allow the additional T20Is to be played in a year,” he said. The Board confirmed the hosting for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 qualifying tournament in the United Arab Emirates in October 2013 and the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 qualifying event in New Zealand in 2014. Other decisions taken included confirmation to proceed with a high-level evaluation of cricket’s participation in multi-sport games; the necessity for women’s cricket to play at least three ODIs or three Twenty20s in a calendar year in order to retain their ODI and T20 status; and, following an independent study, that the current Reliance ICC Rankings are fit for the purposes of determining qualification to ICC events and for promotion/relegation purposes.