ISLAMABAD - The National Assembly Speaker has constituted a 14-member commission for creation of new provinces in Punjab.

The National Assembly Secretariat issued a notification to this effect on Thursday. The Speaker has constituted the commission in pursuance of the message received from the President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and authorisation by the National Assembly on July 11, 2012.

The commission comprises of Senators Farhatullah Babar, Syeda Sughra Imam, Haji Muhammad Adeel, Kamil Ali Agha, Malik Muhammad Rafique Rajwana, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri and MNAs Arif Aziz Sheikh, Jamshaid Ahmad Dasti, Syed Ali Musa Gilani, Tahmina Daultana, Ch Saud Majeed and Dr Muhammad Farooq Sattar.

Two members of the provincial assembly of Punjab would be included as and when their nominations are received from the Speaker Punjab Assembly.

Online adds: President Asif Zardari had asked Fehmida to formally initiate the process of carving out two new provinces in southern Punjab.

In his message to the National Assembly Speaker, the President asked the speaker to constitute a commission to start the process of creating the new provinces and to also revive the status of Bahawalpur as a province.

Earlier, Senate Chairman Nayyer Hussain Bukhari had proposed names of six senators to form a commission for establishment of new provinces in Punjab. Names of two senators from Pakistan People’s Party and one each from Awami National Party, Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam-Fazl, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Pakistan Muslim League (Q) have been sent to National Assembly Secretariat.