LAHORE - Government College University Vice-Chancellor Prof Khalid Aftab has said that the GCU always provided full encouragement to sports right from the beginning of the institute. He said, Our sports history can be traced from session 1931-32 when the GCU became overall champion and won general trophy of the Punjab University for the first time. He expressed these views in a meeting held at the GCU to team up with Old Ravians to compile 146-year sports history of the University. The decision to bring on record the services of GCU sports legends was taken at a meeting of the GCU officials with former Olympians and gold medallists including Munir Dar, Javed Zaman Khan, Imtiaz Ahmed and Naqi Mohsin. VC Prof Dr Khalid Aftab chaired the meeting. The VC said that the GCU won 12 times overall general trophy and secured runners up positions four times from 1931 to 1947. During the period, the University produced a number of outstanding sportsmen who not only brought honour to their alma mater but also had the distinction of representing India in Olympics and various other international sports events. After Independence, the GCU kept on its outstanding traditions in the field of sports and maintained its excellence and edge over the rival institutions and won the general all-round trophy 20 times and remained runner up for 22 times from 1947-48 till 1988-89 in national games, he said. Addressing the meeting, former Olympian Munir Dar appreciating the efforts of GCU Sports Board took full responsibility of complying the record of Old Ravian hockey players, who represented Sub-continent and later Pakistan after independence since 1928 Hockey Olympics till date. He especially gave reference of Jafar Shah who received Gold Medal in Hockey in 1932 and 1936. Chief Minister Task Force for Sports Chairman Ch Muhammad Yaqoob suggested that the role of coaches and team managers should also be highlighted in the history. Later, the VC announced forming the committees and sub-committees of various games for compiling the data. \\ Dr Ijaz Ahmed, Najam Latif, Col (r) Saeed Ahmed Khan and Prof Ahmed Hussain also attended the meeting.