LAHORE - Pakistan 'B' team comprising Salman Jehangir and Naeem Khan clinched the International Team title of the 53rd National Amateur Golf Championship of Pakistan here at the Royal Palm Golf and Country Club Golf Course on Friday.

In this 36 holes competition played and fought over the first two days of this four-day national event, Pakistan 'B' team were placed only one stroke behind the opening days leader, Pakistan 'C', but as the second day’s round picked up, Salman and Taimoor took control of the situation and through consistent excellence, found their way to glory.

The aggregate score of the Pakistan team was 295, seven over par. It was a good omen for Pakistan golf because last year in the 52nd National Golf championship, Bangladesh had taken home the international team title leaving the Pakistanis distraught and not too happy with the Pakistani golf scene. Pakistan Golf Federation (PGF) secretary Brig (r) Nayyar Afzal rightly felt elated over this match-winning performance and patted the youngsters over their determined effort.

As for the other team positions, Pakistan 'C' team comprising Zohaib Asif and Naeem Khan ended up at a score of 300. Bangladesh team of M Sagor and M Nazin came third with a score of 309. Other teams in order of positions attained were Pakistan 'A' (M Rehman and Ghazanfar Mehmood) 310, Sri Lanka (Sisira Kumara and P Hemantha) 325, Iran (Reza Pourhasseini and Ebrahim Nouri) 346 and Afghanistan (Noor Ahmed Fazel and Ali Ahmed Fazel) 394.

At the end of the second round of individual national, the leaders are Mubariz Ahmed (Islamabad) and Zulfiqar Ali (Multan). They are bunched at a two days aggregate score of 146, two over par. While Zulfiqar was a bit patch in the second round, Mubariz played superbly and his second day’s round of par 72 was definitely a great effort. The leader in the ladies section is Ami Qin (Islamabad) at a score of 82, followed by Maryama Khan (Gymkhana) 83, Zaibun Nisa (Royal Palm) 85 and Ghazala Yasmin (Garrison) 85.

In the Inter association team match, Sindh team comprising Zohaib Asif, Waseem Rana, Mansoor Teli and Ali Hai is ahead at a score of 453 followed by Federal at 457 and Punjab at 460. Asad IA Khan, manager Sindh team hoped that the young ones would continue to play with a devoted touch. The international team match for JR Jaewardne Trophy will be contested between Pakistan and Sri Lanka today (Saturday).